New Haven, Connecticut July 31 - August 2, 2020

Get Ready for An Amazing Challenge!

The weekend? July 31 - August 2, 2020

The challenge? To make a film in only 48 hours!

Filmmakers from all over the New Haven, CT area will compete to see who can make the best short film in only 48 hours. The winning film will go up against films from around the world at Filmapalooza 2021 for a chance at the grand prize and an opportunity to screen at the Cannes Film Festival 2021 Short Film Corner.


Genres Elements FAQs


Registration Fees Registration Opens: Tuesday, May 26

  • Early Bird: $148 USD/team ends Mon, Jul 6
  • Regular: $168 USD/team ends Tue, Jul 21
  • Late: $188 USD/team ends Fri, Jul 31

Oscar Viewing Party

Sun, Feb 9, 2020 @ 7:00pm - 11:00pm
The Regal Beagle
17 Whitney Avenue, New Haven CT

Once again, we kick off the NHV48HFP season with an Oscar Viewing Party!


We pair the red carpet fashion & Academy Awards with the best food & drinks in New Haven!

Join us at the Regal Beagle where we can talk films all night long with Oscar!

RSVP via facebook

Kickoff Event

Fri, Jul 31, 2020 @ 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Beeracks
250 Bradley Street, East Haven CT

Dropoff Event

Sun, Aug 2, 2020 @ 5:00pm - 8:00pm
by 7:30pm to be on-time
The Beeracks
250 Bradley Street, East Haven CT

Premiere Screenings

Group A: Wed, Aug 5, 2020 @ 7:00pm
Group B: Wed, Aug 5, 2020 @ 9:00pm
Group C: Thu, Aug 6, 2020 @ 7:00pm
Bijou Theatre
275 Fairfield Avenue; Bridgeport

The 10th Annual New Haven 48 Hour Film Project Premiere Screenings will be held at the historic Bijou Theatre in Bridgeport!

More specifics will be coming soon once we have the team registration open in May & know how many screening groups we will need.

Group A: Wednesday August 5, 2020 at 7:00 pm

Group B: Wednesday August 5, 2020 at 9:00 pm

Group C: Thursday August 6, 2020 at 7:00 pm

Group D: Thursday August 6, 2020 at 9:00 pm

Best Of Screening

Fri, Aug 28, 2020 @ 7:00pm - 11:00pm
Bijou Theatre
275 Fairfield Avenue; Bridgeport

The 10th Annual Best of New Haven & Golden Awards Night will be held at the Bijou Theatre in Bridgeport, CT on Friday August 28, 2020


Details coming soon once the judges have spoken! 

Films from Previous Years


Important Message: Copycat DisclaimerPrivacy Policy

Copyright © 2001-2020 48 Hour Film Project, Inc. All Rights Reserved