The Minneapolis 48 Hour Film Project

See below for 2012 results.
For more information on 2015, click here...

The Judges Have Spoken!

Our panel of judges has made its decision. Congratulations to all of the filmmakers and teams who participated. We are proud to announce our winners!

Best Use of Character
"Sanctuary" by THE TEAM PRESENTS:

Best Use of Prop
"A.T.H.L.E.T.E." by Circa Productions

Best Use of Line
"Video Chat" by Send Help Films

Best Visual Effects (Post-Production)
"Video Chat" by Send Help Films

Best Hair & Makeup
"Deposit Box" by Job Application

Best Emerging or Student Film
"Raidho" by True Norse Productions

Best Emerging or Student Director
Sarah Jones for "Hero"

Best Emerging or Student Acting
Makenzie Wilder and Zach Wilder in "Secure"

Best Emerging or Student Screenplay
"Henry’s Table" by 11 Point Films

Best Acting Ensemble
"Deposit Box" by Job Application

Special Judges’ Award: Best Vehicular Homicide
"Laggard" by Brocuz

Third Runner Up for Best Film
"Deposit Box" by Job Application

Best Costumes
"Deposit Box" by Job Application

Best Special Effects
"Half Brothers" by Outpost 31 Productions

Best Sound Design
"Video Chat" by Send Help Films

Best Musical Score
"Put a Ring On It" by Two Jacket Productions

Best Cinematography
"The Midwesterner" by Terrordome Productions

Best Editing
"Put a Ring On It" by Two Jacket Productions

Best Actress
Sara Richardson, Pool Boy Always Thinks Twice

Best Actor
Mike Lenczewski, First Date

Best Ensemble Acting
Deposit Box

Best Writing
"Mothermen" by Lighten Up, Francis

Best Directing
Kristin and Justin Schaack, "Coming Out"

Second Runner Up for Best Film
"Put a Ring On It" by Two Jacket Productions

Runner Up for Best Film
"Mothermen" by Lighten Up, Francis

Best Film
"Coming Out" by Above-the-Line Entertainment

Minneapolis 48HFP Audience Awards

The audience has spoken! The following teams won the audience awards for their respective screenings. Congratulations!

Audience Award Winner: Group A
"Mothermen" by Lighten Up, Francis

Audience Award Winner: Group B
"The Midwesterner" by Terrordome Productions

Audience Award Winner: Group C
"Coming Out" by Above-the-Line Entertainment

Audience Award Winner: Group D
"Miscarriage" by Nic(K)² Productions

Audience Award Winner: Group E
"Girls in Lane 4" by Steeltoe Stiletto

Minneapolis 48HFP Prizes

Prizes for the 2012 edition include:

  • Adobe's Production Premium 6 (just released!)
  • Camera support gear from indiSYSTEM
  • FinalCutProX
  • Class and membership from IFP
  • Acting classes from Bill Cooper and Cynthia Uhrich
  • Rental package from Cinequipt
  • Gift certificate from Costume Rentals
  • Garritan Instant Orchestra software
  • Delicious coffee from Peace Coffee
  • SavingFace Continuity Software
    (plus their Special Makeup Effects and Branding Modules)
  • Product from Phillips Distilling Co
  • Lunch date with the illustrious Christine Walker

Minneapolis 48HFP Links

Photo by Ryan Strandjord

Required Elements

Character  R. Thomas, Athlete
Prop  a ring
Line  "Have you been here before?"

Our Sponsors

prairievodka logocineomatic logo
southdakotafilmfestival logoindisystem logo
newglobefilms logocostumerentals logo
peacecoffee logosavingface logo
crookedpintalehouse logointhemoment logo
surlybrewingcompany logobergerbrands logo
ifp-minnesota logobillcooper logo
cinemaandcivics logocinequipt logo
twincitiesfilmfest logoriverviewtheater logo
yyes logosamaritancasting logo
cooperpubrestaurant logounisys logo
btdesign logomakemusic logo
trylonmicrocinema logopond5 logo
moviemagicsw logo

Screening Groups

Group A
Screening on Tuesday, June 12, 7:00pm

ZeroCool Productions, Damian Walker
A-B-C-D-E-F You, Austin Anderson
We-Grillin-Tonight Films, Nathan Block
Sorry I was Making a Sandwich, Evan Taylor
Blue Cord Productions, Jacob Lewis
The Cinemation Studio, DJ Charewicz
One Last Shot, Samuel Mueller
Day Two Studio, Ben Lifson
Steep Hill Films, Brent Duncan
Fourth Place, Brenda Paul
RED23FILMS, Sean Skinner
True Norse Productions, Kjell Kvanbeck
Lighten Up, Francis, Chad Gilman
Green Sea, John Gigrich

Group B
Screening on Tuesday, June 12, 9:00pm

328 Productions, Daniel Scott
Firebrand Studios, Grant Swanson
Terrordome Productions, Aaron Nelson
Two Jackets Productions, Andrew Neill
Circa Productions, Dustin Solmonson
Minnesota Filmmakers meetup, Edith Tchouichoui
Send Help Films, Adam Fielitz
Dream Reality Films, Red Handed Rejects Productions, Ethan Nelson
tranquility, Frank Petrovic
THE TEAM PRESENTS:, Katelyn Haugdahl
Team DRG, Geoff Thompson
Minneapolis Media Institute, Michael Richmond
The Tommies, Katherine Curtis
11 Point Films, John Butler

Group C
Screening on Wednesday, June 13, 7:00pm

Runs with scissors, Jared Myers
creativLEE done CINEMA, Jesse Lee
Hielsberg, Matt Hielsberg
Dog at Large, Jessica Bergren
Gold Coin, Paul Winkels
Some Assembly Required, Dan Rollins
Collision Pictures, James Snapko
Brocuz, Ryan Griffin
Sten, Sten Schuler
Above-the-Line Entertainment, Kristin + Justin Schaack
Last Ditch Effort, Jason Hubert
Still Rendering, Dann Hurlbert
Hanco Productions, Lucas Carlson / Benjamin Terry

Group D
Screening on Wednesday, June 13, 9:00pm

Moescape Films, Mark Williams
Uncle Jimmy Pictures, Jon Matejcek
Epic BFFs, Matthew Stoffel
Two Guys with Glasses, Tyler Bancroft
Lumnivore Pictures, Michael Olson
The Exit Scene, Nathan Trimbach
Nic(K)² Productions, Nick Damian
Kurt Bills, Vaughn Juares
Cassidy Intranational, Joe Filipas
The Scando Casters, Peder Swendsrud
Teddy Media, Ryan Grams
film4fun, Zach Cupery

Group E
Screening on Thursday, June 14, 7:00pm

Outpost 31 Productions, Ryan Schaddelee
Steeltoe Stiletto, Sarah Heller
Job Application, Christine Radzak
Helium Three, Steve Thaemert
B/S Productions, Joshua Schmidt
have anvil, will smith, jack mulkern
Hexed Robot, Toby Iverson
Mediamazing, Travis Monroe
Squirrels in a Bucket, Michael Prenevost
Spinning Beach Ball of Death, Kara Bancroft
Kicked Off The Roof Entertainment, Tyler Richter
Aspiring to be Inspiring, Sarah Jones
No Parking, Xiaolu Wang
Grey Duck, Jason Schumacher

Important Message: Copycat Disclaimer

Copyright © 2001-2015 48 Hour Film Project, Inc. All Rights Reserved