Des Moines, Iowa July 21 - 23, 2017

Get Ready for An Amazing Challenge!

The weekend? July 21 - 23, 2017

The challenge? To make a film in only 48 hours!

Filmmakers from all over the Des Moines, IA area will compete to see who can make the best short film in only 48 hours. The winning film will go up against films from around the world at Filmapalooza 2018 for a chance at the grand prize and an opportunity to screen at the Cannes Film Festival 2018, Court Métrage.

Genres Elements FAQs

Registration Fees

  • Regular: $168 USD/team ends Tue, Jul 11
  • Late: $188 USD/team ends Fri, Jul 21
Register Your Team Now!Looking to Join a Team?

Meet & Greet

Tue, Jun 27, 2017 @ 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Des Moines Social Club - The Basement
901 Cherry Street Des Moines 50309

Come meet and mingle with fellow 48HFP filmmakers! Don't have a team? This is a great place to meet others looking to form a group. We hope to see you there! The Basement will be holding their weekly Team Trivia at 7:30 for those who wish to stay and participate! 

The Basement is located directly behind the Des Moines Social Club on Cherry Street.

RSVP via facebook

Kickoff Event

Fri, Jul 21, 2017 @ 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Dropoff Event

Sun, Jul 23, 2017
by 7:30pm to be on-time

Premiere Screenings

Wed, Aug 2, 2017
Fleur Cinema
4545 Fleur Drive, Des Moines 50321

Best Of Screening

Thu, Aug 17, 2017 @ 7:00pm
Fleur Cinema
4545 Fleur Drive, Des Moines 50321

Participating Teams

Here are some of the teams that will be making a short film for Des Moines in only 48 hours.

  • 1 MAYHEM NATION Kevin Tobey
  • Bad Medicine Films Brad Seidenfeld
  • BOSS BITCH Andrea Markowski
  • Civil Union Gabriel Tejeda
  • Dok Studios Johnny Reeves
  • Extempore Pictures Kirk Peterson
  • Fried Ice Mason McGrew
  • Jackson Galactic Kenny Jackson
  • Jump The Shark Dayton Hayes
  • Metro Oscar Mayer Thai Luong
  • Molten Lotion Bickley Riley
  • One Genome Short Productions Gabriel Rowold
  • Owl Mode Scott Ver Mulm
  • Poplar Production Joshua Weber
  • Porkchop & Sushi Lia Brown
  • Saladfist Kevin Thorn
  • Shrieking Tree Justin Norman
  • Sliding Rock Productions Corey Henderson
  • Team FIIP Carl Busch
  • Team Last To Enter John Hansen
  • The Unfathomable Possibilities Assembly Jared Sackett
  • Tiny Explosions Patrick Boberg
  • Trans-Iowa Canal Company Les Roth
  • Two Creek Productions Jeremiah Scavo
  • white poison industries Nick Strickland
  • Zef Rafaz Productions Fez Zafar

Films from Previous Years

Important Message: Copycat DisclaimerPrivacy Policy

Copyright © 2001-2017 48 Hour Film Project, Inc. All Rights Reserved